California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/18/13, 8:52 pm

Can I gey fired while on medical leave for my back?

5 Answers


Answered on: 6/18/13, 9:04 pm by Tuvia Korobkin

It is impossible to answer your question without more facts. Generally, however, an employer may not terminate you while on qualified medical leave.

You should contact an employment lawyer to discuss your specific situation and to determine your rights.

Some law firms, including mine, offer free initial consultations and will not charge you anything up front.

Tuvia Korobkin, Esq.

Eisenberg & Associates

3580 Wilshire Blvd. Suite 1260

Los Angeles, California 90010

(213) 201-9331 phone


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/18/13, 9:35 pm by ARMAN MOHEBAN

is your injury work-related? Feel free to call me at 213.388.7070 for a free consultation.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


LAW OFFICES OF ARMAN MOHEBAN 3055 WILSHIRE BLVD., SUITE 900 Los Angeles, CA 90010

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/18/13, 10:22 pm by John Laurie

Generally no if you are on a work related leave but there are exceptions and would need to know more facts.

This gratuitous response does not create an attorney client relationship. The advice provided herein is generic, may not apply to your circumstances and is not to be relied upon in your actions. An attorney client relationship is created only upon execution of an engagement letter or retainer agreement hiring me or my firm.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/19/13, 10:30 am by Kristine Karila

It is unlawful to discriminate, including firing, against an employee because of his/her serious medical condition. However, if you are on leave because of your medical condition and the employer would have fired you regardless of the med. condition or leave associated with it, that is not unlawful. Call an employment law attorney to discuss. 949-481-6909. www.employment-business-attorney.com


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Kristine S. Karila 9891 Irvine Center Dr., Ste. 200 Irvine, CA 92618

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/20/13, 2:11 pm by Terry A. Nelson

CAN they? Yes. But if you can prove it was 'because of' your leave or medical condition, then you might have a claim of discrimination or retaliation. If you think you can do so, then feel free to contact me to discuss your facts. I've been doing these cases for many years.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search