California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
2/27/05, 9:37 am

Legal Question


Ineffective Policy Allowed Mgrs Emotional Abuse to Continue & Worsen

6 mos. ago, I used my employer's ''Open Door Policy'' to report issues with my mgr to HR. I disclosed numerous incidents of workplace bullying (lying, intimidation, reverse age discrimination, gossiping, exagerrations, need to control everything, etc). Instead of improving my working conditions worsened.

In one instance she changed my desk area and duties to mirror employees of lower rank; causing me to be treated and feel demoted. Between desks, my mgr needlessly extended the contract of our temp whose desk I was to assume by a full week. So,I was assigned to clean the filthy break/work rm; as well as other grunt or needless tasks

My work environment led to anxiety, severe depression, marital problems, loss in productivity and habitual tardiness.

Prior to my mgrs bias treatment, she once said,''Im not worried about a few mins. It all evens out.''

She fired me for being less than 3 min late to work-despite being required to work an all-to-common hour (usually more) of unscheduled OT the night before...

My tardiness resulted in a verbal & written warning/probation, and termination (some 2.5mos. after my probation ended w/o notice of an extension).

Doesn't someone have a duty to prevent, not condone such emotional damage


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search