California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 1/31/12, 7:32 am

To make a long story short; I was offered employment; I was told I needed to pass a background check and a drug test, initially; come to find out; other than for reasonable "checks" such as a urine test for drug use, a work history check and a criminal / financial check, I was told specifically told that a complete physical needed to be performed and that I needed to pass the physical to come on-board, essentially to be hired, officially; the physical consists of blood-work, a chest x-ray, breathing tests, heart scan - check and hearing and vision test among other things; is this legal for a company to REQUIRE and MANDATE that a qualified candidate who already went through the grueling interview process and was offered the position to under-go such private medical tests and for that matter be judged as to whether I can be "officially" hired and or to come on-board??? I am not a lawyer, but there seems to something fundamentally wrong here....

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

286 Answers given in the last few hours.

7529 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search