California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
7/19/05, 6:20 pm

Legal Question


Mileage Reimb in place of Earned Wages?

Can an employer pay mileage reimbursement in place of earned wages? For example: A non-exempt employee worked 20hrs @ $10/hr=$200.00. Reported 400 miles driven @ .31/mile=$124.00. Pay check lists $76 earned wages, ($200-$124=$76), and $124 paid as mileage reimb. Isn't mileage reimb. supposed to be in addition to earned wages, not in place of? With a gross listed as $76, that makes the hourly rate for time worked $3.80/hr, and dollars listed as paid mileage reimb., isn't really reimbursed at all. What can I do about this to make it right?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search