California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Miniuimu wage
I was offered a job then they told me that the job pays 3.00 an hour can a shop owner pay less than minium wage than the state or is it legal.
Miniuimu wage
I was offered a job then they told me that the job pays 3.00 an hour can a shop owner pay less than minium wage than the state or is it legal.
|
Read More Answered By: Wayne Wisong |
Re: Miniuimu wage Unless it is a sub-minimum wage job (waiter/waitress, etc.), they have to pay you the legal minimum wage. My suggestion would be that if you are willing to work for minimum wage, tell them you will accept the job, but for not less than the legal minimum wage. If they refuse, tell them if they do not hire you, you will file a complaint with the US and Calif. Labor authorities. It is very possible they will then grudgingly hire you, because they could be forced by the agencies not only to hire you at legal minimum wage, but could have their entire employment practices audited and penalties imposed. Of course, you will not be real popular with your new management, so it could prove to be an uncomfortable working situation. |
|
Read More Answered By: Fariba Faiz |
Re: Miniuimu wage It depends as to the nature of the job, i.e. whether it is governed by a local union, the location, the size of the employer, type of employment and other related issues. The employer may have some degree of autonomy as to what wage they offer and what wage level would be acceptable for you given your qualifications for the position. If the employer fails to pay you the required minimum as they promise, then you may have remedies as offered by DOL's wage and hour division, and the like. However, it is unlikley that you can force an employer to hire you at at a certain rate, if they are not otherwise required to pay the same. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 983
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-04-19
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 538
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-12
► Payment of 10 month contract Is there any legal requirement that a teacher's 10...
► Minimum payment if you work a half of an hour, does your employer have to pay you...
► Motorcycle Stolen from Work My motorcycle was stolen from the front of the buliding...
► Medical reason for not working I had a operation for a hernia,the doctor gave me...
► Earrings My boss won't let me wear my earrings at work simply because I am male,...
► How long does an employer have? My husband is leaving his job and taking another....
► Company refusing to honor stock option agreement Resigned from company last June,...
More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press