California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/22/13, 11:52 pm

For office administrator (customer service and sales) employees and warehouse employees, If they work 5 days a week in which 3 days are spent working 9 hours a day and 2 days are spent working 5 hours per day, whereas the total hours per week are 37 hours. Are these employees entitled to overtime pay of 1 hour for those three days in which they are exceeding 8 work hours?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/23/13, 12:02 am by Tuvia Korobkin

Generally, yes, they would be entitled to overtime (time-and-a-half) compensation for the ninth hour of work.

California wage and hour law is very complex, and you should consult with an experienced California employment lawyer regarding your specific situation.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/23/13, 8:51 am by Kristine Karila

CA law is: Any nonexempt employee who works over 8 hours in a day OR over 40 in a workweek, must be paid overtime. The warehouse employees - if their duties are lifting, etc., they are nonexempt. As for the "office administrator" if that person spends 50% or more of his/her time performing actual managerial duties, that person may be exempt. Exempt or nonexempt generally depends on the person's duties and the amount of time they spend on those duties and the amount of independent judgment and decisionmaking.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Kristine S. Karila 9891 Irvine Center Dr., Ste. 200 Irvine, CA 92618

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/23/13, 10:52 am by Terry A. Nelson

Hourly paid employees on five day shift would generally be entitled to OT for all hours over 8 per day or over 40 per week. You can file a claim with the Labor Commissioner's office and get a confirming opinion from them. Then, if serious about hiring counsel to help pursue your claim[s], feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search