California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
8/14/10, 10:42 am

Legal Question


I am a part time high school teacher who is paid hourly per classroom hour. I am attempting to renegotiate my contract to be compensated for an hour of prep/grading in addition to the hour of classroom time. My employer has now claimed that the hourly wage I am paid for the classroom hour includes two hours worth of work, one for prep and one for teaching. (This does not appear on my contract, and when I am paid for other events, such as meetings, my wage remains the same.)

Is it legal for an employer to say that one hour's pay equals two hours of work?

I work in Berkeley, CA.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search