California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
7/01/09, 5:11 pm

Legal Question


Pay standards and exempt salaried employees

My husband works in the computer software field. In the past 4 months, he--name removed--put in over 90 hours overtime on projects unrelated to his normal job.

Being concerned that he was not being compensated in any way for this over time - I contacting the CA state labor commission. They said something about computer software employees needing to make (salaried) $79k + to be classified as exempt. My husband makes nearly $20k less than that and is classified as an exempt salaried employee.

Does this mean my husband is owed over time or a change in salary?

When he asked his human resources department at work regarding this, they just said they'd look into it. Haven't heard anything since.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search