California | Employment Law
Legal Question
I am a physician who was searching for employment. I called a recruiting firm. They put me in touch with a physician. Afer hours of speaking with him, I decided he had a great job to offer. He asked that I transfer to him $5000 to form a contract, etc. I was skeptical of a money request, so I checked for his medical license and called his employer. Neither had ever heard of him. I then called the recruiter. They assured me he was legitimate and said he was just protecting his identity to avoid breach of his current employment contract. So I sent him the money. Sure enough, he was not a doctor. He vanished. Now I am out $5000. Do I have any case or can I pursue any action against the recruiting firm??
Thanks,
Jason Hess, MD


