California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
7/12/09, 7:52 pm

Legal Question


prevailing wage

I am a sign installer. We are a subcontractor and work on many school projects providing new signage that meets ada requirments. My employer is required to pay prevailing wage. I have been doing this for six years and I feel I have been cheated. I have done some research and it appears the my boss has classified me as a laborer group 3. I have 20 years exp in my job. Also he only pays me my regular hourly rate and tells me I have to wait for them to be paid before I can get the difference. He said sometimes it takes years. Once in a while he will give me a couple of small checks and not tell me what project they were for. Since time goes by, I dont know what I have been paid for. I am sure it is not up to date. He doesn't keep records and when the job is complete he turns in certified payroll and just turns in 8 hours for me. I have been told by someone in the office that they don't promptly pay me when they get paid and I am last or they bill list. I am the only installer, I have worked at around 100 schools. I did not agree to wait on being paid they did that on they own. I know I can report them and they will be fined. I can only go back 2 years so I am wondering what my options are.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search