California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
1/04/03, 12:01 pm

Legal Question


Racial Harassment on the Job

I have been working for a medium-sized corporation (150+ppl)

for about 4.5 yrs. During the last year or so, a member of mgmt has found it funny to call me silly names and make fun of how I spoke. I am asian-american. He is Mexican. This went off and on for about a year. Finally, he started addressing me as his pet name in front of other members of mgmt. Other mgrs started calling me names and making fun of my last name. At this point, I went to the Regional Mgr and complained about the situation. He put a stop to it. Since then, the Mgr who started this whole thing has joked once about it. I gave no reply and walked away. Yesterday I was in the office, and caught him staring at me. I looked away, and then saw him continue to look at me with a long stare at about 2 feet away. He is acting strangely now, and I am not sure what to do now. Do I go to the Regional Mgr and tell him about this odd behavior? Is this a form of harassment? At what point do I seek a lawyer, or is this

not a major issue?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search