California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/23/13, 2:05 pm

I recently got terminated from my job of 14 years almost 15 years for improper job procedures. They terminated me without any current write ups on file. I had a final corrective, but that ended in January 13.Now they want me to come back with a write up on my file, which makes me eligible to transfer. I also wouldn't be receiving a increase for the third year in a row. My manager called and left a message yesterday, that he wants to talk, but I don't know what to do. Do you think I might have a case or would it be better to return to work, until I find something else?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/23/13, 2:11 pm by Terry A. Nelson

in general, unless an employee is civil service, in a union, or has a written employment contract, they are an 'at will' employee that can be disciplined or terminated any time for any reason, with or without ‘cause’, explanation or notice. Your goal should be to keep your job, at least until you find another.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/23/13, 2:18 pm by Timothy McCormick

Mr. Nelson is right. Nothing in what you describe would give you any kind of legal case against your employer. Unless you have proof of illegal discrimination based on something like race or gender, or illegal retaliation for protected activities, such as filing a legitimate wage claim with the Labor Board, your employer had every legal right to terminate you for any or no reason. If you can get your job back while finding another, be thankful.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/23/13, 5:07 pm by Phillip Wheeler

An "at will" employee can be "let go" anytime for no reason unless there is a contract to the contrary, a union, etc.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At Law- caonlinelawyer.com P.O. BOX 665 Morro Bay, CA 93443-0665

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search