California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Reverse Age Discrimination
I work for a PEO and was assigned to our #1 client. My manager & I went to have lunch with the client’s HR Mgr & VP, where it was discovered that I’m a peer of the HR Mgr’s college aged daughter. In less than a week after I started at the client’s site, the HR Mgr decided that I’m not a fit. I “don’t have enough experience”, though she never saw my resume. They complained about when I arrived for work, though I was never informed of formal hours of operation nor their dissatisfaction. From day 1, the HR Mgr undermined my credibility and ability to contribute. I believe that since the lunch meeting, the HR Mgr made the decision that by association with her daughter, I was not mature/professional enough for the job. The week at the client’s site was only a charade to disguise reverse age discrimination. As the client is high profile, my humiliation is company wide. I’ve spoken to my manager, but I was told to drop the notion of discrimination and move on. Is this not a legitimate case to claim with EEOC? Also, my manager has hired people to take my place since I’ve been assigned to the client, so she may not have headcount to bring me back. If I lose my job because there is no headcount, is that wrongful termination?


