California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Severance
The internet company I have working for has been doing waves of lay-offs. They advised the remaining employees that they will be partnering the business and in approximately 4-6 weeks, we will no longer have jobs. They advised us that they will not be giving out severance packages because due to the fact that we have been given notice. Meanwhile, everyone who was laid off already, received severance packages. They justified that by saying that these people weren't given notice. I know for a fact that people in the past at this same company were given 4-8 week notice of a lay-off and were still given severance packages. Can we pressure them to give us severance packages?


