California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
7/05/07, 6:09 pm

Legal Question


Statute of Limitations - Nonpayment of Wages?

What is the Statute of Limitations on a nonpayment of wages (wage claim)? (And it appears Willful! Calls & emails not returned. No reasonable dispute exists.)

DLSE 1st said ''3 years for willful nonpayment''. They told me this 2 times. Then, when I turned in my Wage Claim, she said, ''2 yrs straight time; 3 yrs overtime.''

I'm owed about $30,000, plus the Waiting Time Penalty ($6,000). Half falls within 2 yrs; 1/2 within 3 yrs.

(I have thorough documentation of hours worked, emails, pictures of work (it was construction), etc. The GC figured I would roll over. They also don't have Worker's Comp.)

Please help. Thanks!!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search