California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Suspended
I am 25 and I am a manager at a retail store. Recently I was suspended for something I did after work when the store was closed and it wasn't at the store. I was suspended because after work and after the store closed I along with some of the other people who work their who range from 19-20 in age hung out and would drink alcohol. We did this after work. I was confronted on the 11th this month about the situation and was asked if I had read our emplyoee hand book. I had and when I got home I read it 3 more times and now where does it say anything about what I do after work on my own time. That day I was suspended and haven't heard anything since. My question if if a person can be fired for something they do on their own time. Thank you for any help you can offer.


