California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
12/28/01, 3:37 am

Legal Question


Thirty Days Prior Written Notice

I am (or was) Executive Assistant to the Senior Minister in a well-known church. The Sen. Min. of 12 yrs. just resigned.

Upon hearing of his intentions, I expressed to him my deep concern; I'm Arab-American, and after Sept. 11th, I have encountered disdain from co-workers and church members, and my car was vandalized. The Sen. Min. assured me that my job would remain secure after he left, and the Business Manager confirmed this.

Two days after his departure, while out sick, I called the office to retrieve my voicemail, only to find it had been erased from the system. I called my extension, and a female answered. I inquired as to why she was at my desk, answering my phone, to which she replied ''I was told you were terminated. I have been hired as your replacement. They have cleared out your things, and your computer was removed. I'm so sorry.''

I have left messages for the Interim Sen. Min. and Bus. Manager, with no reply.

I know this happened because some simple minds can not separate my ethnicity from ''terrorism''. Proving this is another matter.

I was employed ''at will'', yet my contract states ''...upon 30 days prior written notice.'' Obviously, I wasn't notified. Could this be my recourse?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search