California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 4:01 pm

Legal Question


I travel 3hrs round trip to my jobsite does my employer have to pay overtime ...I clock in at 6:30am and clock out around 4:30-5:00pm but I am paid just my hourly wage after 40 hrs


question bubble
11/21/09, 6:23 pm

Legal Answer


You must be paid for all hours on the clock. Any time over 8 hrs in one day OR 40 hours in one week are overtime. 6:30a.m. to 4:30 p.m. is 10 hrs. Two of those hours are overtime.

Whether or not the employer has to pay travel time depends on certain facts that I need to get from you.

I will be happy to discuss this in detail with you at no charge. Please call me at 805-886-4515.

Raymond Chandler

Law Office of Raymond Chandler 15 W. Carrillo St., Suite 211 Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search