California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/17/13, 5:25 pm

My wife sued in small claims court for money owed to her by someone who hired her as a house manager. After one week (41 hours) she was given excuses why they could not pay her that day and again on the following day. She was let go with the excuse that she did not work all the hours she claimed. In this line of business employees don't clock in and out. My wife could not prove to the judge she was there the hours she claimed so she was not awarded what she wanted $820 for 41 hours plus 30 day penalty for with holding pay under labor law. Judge did not take all evidence into account once the defendant started crying. She was awarded $400 no penalty. Can she now sue in civil limited where judge may look at case more in detail? Or is our only option the labor board.

4 Answers


Answered on: 6/17/13, 5:43 pm by Christie Asselin

In my opinion, her option would be to appeal the small claims action, which is heard before a limited court judge. She needs to file an appeal from the judgment. Then there will be a trial de novo which basically means the court will hear all the evidence again. It's just like a trial. Note, though, that the court, on appeal, can do whatever it wants including finding in favor of the other side. New arguments and new evidence can be heard. Also note that you have a limited amount of time to file the appeal. Your county should have a small claims adviser who you can reach over the phone and speak to about the process. You may also use an attorney at the small claims appeal. In fact, it's probably advisable. Best of luck to you!

This communication may be considered attorney advertising. Previous results are not a guarantee of future outcome.No Attorney Client Relationship

The use of any content provided on this site and your provision or submission of any information while using this site will not create an attorney-client relationship between you and Ms. Asselin. Please be aware that any information that you provide by reason of your use of this site is not privileged or confidential.The content of this site is provided solely for informational purposes: it is not intended as and does not constitute legal advice. The information contained herein should not be relied upon or used as a substitute for consultation with legal, accounting, tax, career and/or other professional advertising.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Christie Asselin 1507 7th Street #139 Santa Monica, CA 90401

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/17/13, 5:53 pm by Timothy McCormick

The plaintiff cannot appeal a Small Claims judgment as a matter of law. Once you choose to sue in Small Claims Court you get your one bite at the apple and that is it. Likewise, that judgment is final an conclusive on all issues in the case. You not only cannot now sue in Limited Jurisdiction, you cannot go to the Labor Board either.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 201 Spear St., Suite 1100 San Francisco, CA 94105

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/18/13, 12:17 am by Charles Perry

I agree with Mr. McCormick. A victorious plaintiff in small claims court has no right of appeal, even if the judgment is smaller than desired. The small claims judgment is res judicata as to that cause of action, and the cause of action cannot be alleged and pursued in a second piece of litigation.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Charles R. Perry 1500 Bayberry Street Hollister, 95023

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/18/13, 11:28 pm by John Laurie

I to think Mr McCormick is correct.

This gratuitous response does not create an attorney client relationship. The advice provided herein is generic, may not apply to your circumstances and is not to be relied upon in your actions. An attorney client relationship is created only upon execution of an engagement letter or retainer agreement hiring me or my firm.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search