I work in CA but the HQ for the company I work with is in Florida, do they have a grave period of 3 days to pay me my termination pay?
2 Answers from Attorneys
Out-of-state employers of California employees must pay such employees in accordance with the California Labor Code. Under Labor Code section 201, an employee who is terminated must be paid all wages he or she has earned at the time and place of termination. The three-day "grace" period only applies to employees who resign.
If you work in CA, your employer must abide by CA law. Upon firing or laying off an employee, the employer must pay the employee's final paycheck "immediately" upon termination - meaning that day. If they don't do so, your employer must pay one day's pay for each day you have to wait to get your check - up to a maximum of 30 days PLUS your attorney's fes. Contact an employment law attorney. Many of us offer a free initial phone consultation and take these types of matters at no cost to you. Law Office of Kristine S. Karila, 949-481-6909.
Related Questions & Answers
I was called and asked if I wanted to do some work for this company. I said yes and... Asked 1/17/13, 3:53 pm in United States California Labor and Employment Law
A man was brought into my work building by another person (who happened to be a... Asked 1/17/13, 11:50 am in United States California Labor and Employment Law
In California, can my employer tell me to apply for unemployment, when I am released... Asked 1/17/13, 5:37 am in United States California Labor and Employment Law
I am a. Ca peace officer for 12 years, recently I discovered a controlled substance... Asked 1/16/13, 11:09 am in United States California Labor and Employment Law
In the state of California, I have been released from disability and able to return... Asked 1/16/13, 10:53 am in United States California Labor and Employment Law