California  |  Employment Law

question bubble
2/10/03, 4:46 am

Legal Question


Wrongful Termination regarding sexual harrasment claim

To whom it may concern,

I am a professional actor who has recently worked for a new theater company which has opened in my community. After an audition, I was selected to be a company member who held certain responsibilties and upheld the codes of conduct listed in my contract. After completing two shows I was terminated based supposedly on my intoxication at a company event. I had 1 glass of wine hours before arrival and was in fact only there for 10 minutes because the party had ended 30 minutes earlier. I couldn't understand why my friends and employers would terminate a valued member of their company for such a flimsy reason. However, it later came to my attention (via an email from the girl who had complained) that my termination was based on someone's claim of sexual harassment against me. They did not document it, or approach me about it in order to give me a chance to defend myself. I don't feel I harassed anyone, and I feel it is wrong to terminate someone without giving them fair trial. Are their laws against this type of termination? Any information would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search