California | Employment Law
Legal Question
Wrongful Termination
I have not been able to walk for the past year due to a knee surgery not being successful. I am in constant pain and recently reinjured my knee, and now my other so I cannot walk without a brace and crutches. I am on pain killers and can't concentrate well enough on them to work anyway, and I have a heart condition that the pills sometimes strike up, leaving me sick. My dr. does not know if this problem can ever be fixed, however, he scheduled me for surgery and has taken me off work and I am now on temp. disability. I asked my employer if I could possibly telecommute, because another employee is set up that way, and they immediately said no and said that they had to terminate my employment because they can't do without me for 8 weeks. However, they are a large company and I know they have the resources to hire a temp or let me work from home. Am I protected at all under ADA?


