California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
2/05/10, 8:55 am

Legal Question


I have given my 30 day notice to my apartment management comnpany. THey are telling me that they cannot except my notice, without payment of the $6,000 they are charging to break the lease. Is this legal for them to do? According to my lease, I have up until I move out before I have to pay this money. ANy advice would be helpful.


question bubble
2/10/10, 1:30 pm

Legal Answer


You can give them notice and move out. They dont have a choice in whether they accept it. But they may come after you. You may call my office for a free consultation.

Daniel Bakondi, Esq.

danielbakondi@yahoo.com

415-450-0424

IMPORTANT NOTICE: This communication may contain confidential information, privileged information, or attorney work product. If you are not the intended recipient or received this message in error, any use or distribution of this message is strictly prohibited and unlawful. Please notify the sender immediately, and delete this message. No attorney-client nor confidential relationship is created through this communication. Nothing communicated or provided constitutes legal advice nor a legal opinion unless it so specifies and written agreement for attorney services has been entered into. Your issue may be time sensitive and may result in loss of rights if you do not act in time. Thank you.

Daniel Bakondi

The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC 870 Market Street, Suite 1161 San Francisco, CA 94102

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search