California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/01/09, 8:26 pm

Legal Question


[California] The 3 day notice I got served states that "Your late charges are deducted from the money you submitted." The late charge in the lease agreement is set at the usurious rate of $25/day late, which amounts to an annual interest rate of 560%. Also, it is not clear what "the money you submitted" means. Does it refer to the security deposit or the rent I paid last month?

Does this make the notice defective?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search