California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
1/30/07, 2:23 pm

Legal Question


Dangerous, outdated wiring in rental home

I live in a rental unit that was built in the 50''s. The wiring in the home is aluminium and of course not sufficient to accomidate today's modern appliances. The breakers are also too small. I have had to replace the electrical plugs in most rooms myself because they were burning out and came close to starting electrical fires while the wires burned.

I have informed the Landlord that the wiring scares me and that an electricial has stated that new breakers and wiring are neccesary. but they do not wish to do the upgrades.

Should the home catch fire and damage my furnishing, can I sue the landlord? Also, can I force the issue of the repairs without suffering retaliation from the landlord such as being evicted.

At this point, with the price of realestate and rentals in my area, I cannot change residences. I think the landlord knows this and has me over a barrel.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search