California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
after a detainer of eviction has been filed,how long do i have ?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
I assume you mean an unlawful detainer lawsuit has been filed against you? Assuming that is the case, you will be (or may have already been) served with the Summons and Complaint. Read the Summons and Complaint, and it will tell you that you have five (5) days from the date you were served to file a response with the Court. Your response can be one of many - you need to do some research into what the possible responses are. If you do not file a response of some sort within the five (5) days, your landlord can obtain a default, then a judgment, then a writ of possession and evict you. After the five days are up, that eviction could happen as quickly as one week or might take a couple. Depends upon how busy the Court is and how diligent the landlord's attorney is. If you file a response (assuming an answer), then the Court must set the case for hearing within 2 weeks, and you could be evicted as quickly as a week later. Your best bet, if you know you are going to have to move, and cannot legally defend the eviction, is to contact the landlord's attorney and try to work something out in terms of a settlement. Sometimes landlord's attorneys are willing to foregoing the money judgment if you stipulate (agree) to get out by a certain date, and if not, they get immediate judgment and possession of the property.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


