California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/12/03, 5:37 am

Legal Question


Discrimination and unfair living conditions

Hi, I am living as a tenant in a house belonging to an absentee landlord. The landlord does not live on the premises and collects the rent through one of the roommates.

This co-ordinating roommate is discrminating against me and making my living conditions difficult. He forces me to do things as per his rules like cleaning the house etc. He is threatening me with eviction on failure to obey his rules. The majority of the household members are with him. In view of this the land lord is likely to support my roommate and ask me to leave or obey his rules.

The rules are applied discriminately and I beleive I am being subjected to racial discrimination. I am an Asian East Indian while the other room mates are White Caucasian.

Can you advise me what protection I have under the Housing Law or any other laws? What are my legal options ? Thanks


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search