California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
forgot to give 30 day written notice
We were in a lease for an apt. For my daughter while she was in school. She left before the lease was up but we keep the apt. so we wouldn't break the lease and continued to pay the rent. We told 2 different apt. managers that we would not renew the lease.We told them 2 months in advance that we would not be renewing the lease. When we went to pay for the last 7 days rent owed we were told that we didn't give 30 a day written notice and we owed for the whole month. I said no I'm not paying so they have sent us a bill for carpet cleaning when we told them for 6 months the carpet was bad, lots of stains and smells bad. A cleaning bill when I cleaned the apt. spotless, some painting charges and they kept the deposit and sent us a bill for $1200.00. I have to respond within 30 days so I wanted some advice before finishing my response. Is a 30 day verbal notice legal?
Thank you,
Mary


