California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Can a garder put a mechanics lien against a homeowner when a tenant is paying for the gardener? Gardener was hired by tenant and paid by tenant.
Can a garder put a mechanics lien against a homeowner when a tenant is paying for the gardener? Gardener was hired by tenant and paid by tenant.
|
Read More Answered By: David Gibbs |
First, the gardener would have to be a licensed contractor to record a mechanic's lien, and my experience is that most gardeners are not licensed. Second, if he or she is licensed, then send them a Notice of Non-Responsibility immediately to avoid adverse consequences if he does not get paid. If you do not, and the gardener is licensed, then yes, they can theoretically place a lien on your home even though you did not contract with them.
*Due to the limitations of the LawGuru Forums, The Gibbs Law Firm, APC's (the "Firm") participation in responding to questions posted herein does not constitute legal advice, nor legal representation of the person or entity posting a question. No Attorney/Client relationship is or shall be construed to be created hereby. The information provided is general and requires that the poster obtain specific legal advice from an attorney. The poster shall not rely upon the information provided herein as legal advice nor as the basis for making any decisions of legal consequence. |
|
Read More Answered By: Timothy McCormick |
Gibbs is just wrong. Mechanics Liens only attach to a "work of improvement." Basic maintenance is not a "work of improvement." If the gardener was a licensed contractor AND did something like a complete garden renovation and installation, or landscape architect type work, then that might be a work of improvement. However, the gardener would then have had to jump through a lot of procedural hoops, such as giving you a preliminary notice within 20-days of starting work, before an effective lien could attach even then. So while Gibbs is right that a landlord can under some circumstances become liable for work by licensed contractors hired by tenants, your mow-and-blow gardener would not have the right to do so. If they do, it is slander of title and you can not only defend against the lien but sue the gardener. |
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10408
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
► Can a landlord keep all or part of your secutity deposit to repaint a house under...
► I'm the current leaseholder on an apartment in Los Angeles. The apartment is not...
► Is my landlord required to provide fire extinguisher(s)? I live in a complex of 20...
► I rented an aptment with my fiance on Oct 3 we signed a 6th month lease and she...
► We gave our landlord notice on april 24, 2009 stating that we were going to move out...
► I am a renter in a condo community. I signed when I move in that I would abide by...
► I recently requested a copy of my lease from my landlord, who is making all sorts of...
More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press