California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
3/10/10, 8:32 pm

Legal Question


If a house rental lease has multiple pages and only the first page is signed by both parties, are the covenants on the pages following the signed page legally binding?

Caveat: The signed page does not specify how many pages there are to the lease agreement.


question bubble
3/15/10, 10:11 pm

Legal Answer


When the signature is on the first page rather than at the end, you have a more difficult time proving what was attached at the time of signing, but whatever can be proved to have been attached is certainly as binding as if the signature was at the end.

Timothy McCormick

Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services 1990 N. California Blvd., 8th Fl Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search