California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
The house we were renting was sold on trustee's sale last month because the owner-landlord did not pay the mortgage since March 2009. A realtor came 2 weeks ago to tell us the bank now owns the house and we have to move out. Then last week she came with a written offer from the bank to move out by March 6, 2010 and get $2000 pay off. I told her this is not enough because my wife has cancer and we are financially strapped. She told us that if we do not move out by that date the sheriff will move us forcible out of the house. What could I do to protect my rights? Is the offer to move out a proper notification?


