California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
10/10/07, 4:52 pm

Legal Question


Landlord wants dog out...

Hi,

I'm currently living in North Hollywood, CA. I have a legal question relating to residential leases and pets. I signed a one-year lease on April 1 06. In our lease, there is NO no-pet clause, or anything that even says mentions pets. In May, we got a rescued miniature pincher who was fully trained and house broken. He weighs 9 pounds. Very quiet, doesn't bark, does not damage any property, and simply isn't a nuisance to anybody. There are several other dogs in our apartment complex as well (mind you I'm paying $3000/mo for a 3 bed). In July, the landlord decides she doesn't want dogs because there were complaints of feces in the courtyard (even though I knew it was the ally cats who I've been seeing around every morning). She tells us we need to get rid of him or we'll be evicted. I told her there's nothing in my lease keeping me from having this non-burdon dog. She told us she'd talk to the owner about it and get back to us shortly. Here it is October 10th, calls us yesterday and tells us that we're getting evicted because we still have the dog after she told us to get rid of it. We told her you never called us back for one, secondly, we can legally have this dog . Was I right, or can they evict us if we don't get him out?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search