California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
landlord is not fixing my ceiling
6 days ago, an electrical fire occurred in my house due to old wiring. the fire department had to knock out my bathroom ceiling to take care of the problem. now the attic is exposed and there is insulation falling on the floor. my landlord said this would be fixed on sunday. nobody came to fix it.
i called him today and he said he didn't know that his workers never came. he said it should be fixed by the end of the week. he said if i don't like it, i can move out, and that he's busy and he can't do much about it right now. he basically seems unconcerned and dismissive. he told me that he would not give me a reduction in rent for this, and if i don't pay him my full rent or if i take legal action on him, he will take legal action on me.
i have called a house inspector, but i'm not sure when they are coming.
i don't feel as if i should pay the full rent when he's making me live like this, but he said i have to pay the full rent, and if i am late with my rent, he will charge me late fees.
i would like to know - what are my rights in this situation? and what are my options?


