California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
My landlord is currently in foreclosure on the home I am renting.
She has asked me to pay rent, in cash, to her.
I do not have a lease but am on a month to month basis.
She told me she was declaring bankruptcy.
She has not paid her loan since April of 2011 or the HOA fees on my place for the last 4 months.
She is putting my cash in her pocket.
I live in Santa Cruz, CA.
Am I legally required to continue paying her rent, in cash, so she can line her pockets while I am now going to be forced to move, which I can not afford right now?


