Re: landlord issues
Probably too soon to break the lease, but I'll give you a blue print for it.
Write landlord a certified letter, return receipt requested, and give him seven days from the date of the letter to give you copy of the lease and fix the heater.
Call your local building codes inspector, or fair housing inspector, and ask for an immediate inspection for code violations. If they write-up a violation, and it is not fixed, you can break lease.
You can also file for rent abatement, which is a full, or partial, refund of your rent.
It frequently helps to get a nasty letter to landlord from an attorney.
If you need more help, please feel free to e-mail, or call, my office.
Good luck!