Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

Two Very Different Landlords

My mother-in-law owns 1/2 the home I live in with her son and our 3 children. She was 2 wks from close of escrow for other 1/2 she was purchasing from her brother. He sold to someone else for more money & now this other owner is attempting to evict us. So far we've received a 3 Day Notice To Pay or Quit that had no address or signature on it & a Notice of Filing Eviction from Superior Court of CA within the county we reside in. He claims we signed a lease with him to pay $4K/mo. & yet he had no estople(sp?) agreement, purchasing his 50% interest as is. We signed no such lease. The agreement when we moved in a yr prior to him purchasing was to caretake in exchange for rent. This agreement was between us, my mil, & her brother. We sold our own home to use the money to help her fix it up cuz it needs TLC. Does this new owner have a leg to stand on in court against us? It seems like bully tactics to us. The new landlord goes under the name of his company with LLC after it.

Asked on 7/20/03, 2:39 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Larry Rothman Larry Rothman & Associates
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Two Very Different Landlords

You may have a case. Please contact our office for consultation. Please ask for Mary.

Read more
7/22/03, 3:11 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8809 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now