California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
is a lease still valid if the person on the lease was a minor when signing the paperwork
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Larry L. Doan |
In California, a minor cannot make a contract relating to real property or any interest therein, which would seem to include a lease. So, yes, it probably is not valid and you could probably disaffirm it (legally break the contract). However, to disaffirm a non-real estate contract (not relating to real property) the rule is that that has to done before the age of 18 or within a reasonable time afterward. I'm not certain if that rule would still apply to your lease. That would depend on the court deciding if the landlord takes you to court.
https://www.lawguru.com/cgi/bbs/attyPages/liem.html
Note: The above response is provided for legal information only and should not be construed as legal advice, nor to create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of consideration. We do not offer free advice except for the information provided herein on LawGuru which has been screened. If follow-up advice on your specific situation is desired, we offer a paid consultation in person if you are in the Los Angeles area, or by phone or email.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10409
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1455
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


