California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
9/18/03, 7:42 am

Legal Question


Am I a legal tenant?

A person I thought was my friend let me move into his vacant house in June of this year. The deal was that instead of paying cash for the rent, I would keep an eye on the place and could stay as long as I wanted.

Recently he made it clear that he wants to be more than friends. I made it clear that I did not. Now he wants me to move, immediately. He changed the locks the other day while I was out. They are now key operated dead bolts, and he won't give me a key. He has a house in the back. When he goes to work, my pets & I are locked in. He even turned off the electricity for a day & night just to be an ass.

I have a felony warrant lurking after me and making my life hell. I want to turn myself in, but the atty I've spoken with wants to find out more info before I do.

My ‘friend' has decided that he wants EVERYTHING I own, except for my pets and clothes. He wants me out ASAP and has threatened to call the police and turn me in if I try to take MY OWN belongings! I came into some money last year and purchased new furniture and art.

What can I do without taking the chance of being arrested on the warrants?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search