California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/03/09, 11:27 pm

Legal Question


I live in Stockton, CA and I'm a owner in a condominium. My neighbor upstairs moved and decided to rent his house out.

The new tenants were suppose to move in on Monday and meet up with the owner.

They never showed. The owner, thought they might of back out of renting the place.

They showed up Tuesday, without notifying the owner. This home that is being rented is a non-smoking home.

Well, when they were up there, they were smoking marijuana.

I called the owner right away.

My question, (since this his first time being a landlord and I have health problems due to smoke): Can he terminate the contract? They have not fully moved in, and seems like they are coming and going to use the place to smoke.

Do I have any legal action against the landlord?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search