California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Do I have to mail 3 day service after receiving the certified mail from tenant acknowledging that they have received our 3-day notice?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: George Shers |
The three day notice is personally served upon the tenants; there is no proof of service required. Once they fail to comply within the "three day" period, then you have to serve them [using a non-party to do the service] with the unlawful detainer lawsuit. I am unsure what you did. If you merely sent them a certified letter with the 3 day notice enclosed, that is not proper service. You must make several reasonable attempts to serve them in person [each defendant must be served personally and not just one, and you need to serve individually everyone living in the unit, except for minor children, even if they are not on the lease]. If that proves unsuccessful, then you can try substituted service [giving it personally to person reasonably anticipated to give it to them] and if theat does not work, you post the notice on the outside of the unit in an obvious place and mail a copy to all residents in the unit. after the three days has run [first day not counted], you then have to serve everyone with the lawsuit. If you do not correctly follow all the requirements, your case will likely be dismissed |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


