California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Manager's Cat Damaging My Car
The manager of our apartment building feeds and cares for a cat in our gated/covered garage. I recently bought a new car with a convertible top and almost every day I find the cat sleeping on the hood or top. It leaves dirt, clumps of fur and light scratches all over. I am also concerned the cat's weight will stretch the canvas top over time. I have politely asked the manager twice if there is something we can do and she has become defensive and hostile, saying the cat has been there a long time and isn't going anywhere. She even threatened me by repeatedly saying that ''if the cat disappears there's going to be trouble''. She knows I would never do anything to harm the cat since I love cats and have two myself, which I keep indoors. Our property management company is also unwilling to help. I am using a car cover temporarily but the car is my daily driver and it is inconvenient to cover/uncover it ever time I need to go somewhere. It still sleeps on the top, which can stretch the fabric despite the cover. The cat food she leaves out also draws raccoons into our garage which is also not a good situation. She claims it is a stray but if she feeds and cares for it, isn't it her responsibility? What else can I do?


