California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
8/10/09, 9:53 pm

Legal Question


I moved out of an apartment. I didn't clean the carpet before I left, I figured that they would just deduct a cleaning fee for doing it for me. Turns out that the manager wants to replace the carpet in the apartment. She is claiming that the carpet is ruined and that I had a pet which is totally wrong, my wife hates animals inside the house plus we have a new born. The manager claims that the stains on the carpet wont come out. I talked to a carpet cleaning guy and he says that all stains come out. We moved on 07/31/09 today is 08/10/09 and she hasn't had the carpet cleaned. On 08/11/09 she stated that she would have a estimator come out and take measurements on the carpet to have it replaced ( without having first cleaned).

My questions is, what steps can I take to basically take her donw.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search