California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I moved out of an apartment and i gave notice that i was doing so. The current manager acknowledges this yet the company still hit me with an unlawful detainer. There was no lease just rental agreement. and they never served me a thing. can they do that
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Melvin C. Belli |
Well they certainly will have some problems to overcome. The question is not can I sue but rather can I win. First a lease and rental agreement are for all practical purposes the same. Now what did they file suit for? Did they serve you a three day notice? They had to in order to file a UD. If it was a non pay issue then they are probably trying to collect back rent and figure tat you will not file a response and they will get a judgment against you quickly. DO NOT LET THAT HAPPEN TO YOU. File a demurrer or file an answer. In the response state you are no longer in possession of premises. Make sure all your stuff is out and manager has keys. Once you are out possession is no longer an issue and the importance is that the case is not entitled to preference in trial. Without the preference they would have to wait 6 mos to a year. With the preference if they were seeking possession you could get to trial in a month or less. Good luck and hope this helps.
|
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


