California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
2/01/10, 6:52 am

Legal Question


I am the owner of record on rental prop. in CA. My husband did the rental agreement and said he was landlord. Now we are separated and he is pocketing rental income and not giving me money for mortgage. Tentant will not return my calls


question bubble
2/06/10, 11:12 am

Legal Answer


You need a lawyer to address a number of specific issues. Many factors are relevant including how much was earned in the marriage, when the property was bought, with what money etc. Also, you are not divorced yet so the question of rights to money depends on a whole set of different factors. I might be able to help you come to an agreement to resolve this, or resolve it in court. Contact my office, and dont delay unless you like watching your rights go down the drain.

Best,

IMPORTANT NOTICE: This communication may contain confidential information, privileged information, or attorney work product. If you are not the intended recipient or received this message in error, any use or distribution of this message is strictly prohibited and unlawful. Please notify the sender immediately, and delete this message. No attorney-client nor confidential relationship is created through this communication. Nothing communicated or provided constitutes legal advice nor a legal opinion unless it so specifies and written agreement for attorney services has been entered into. Your issue may be time sensitive and may result in loss of rights if you do not act in time. Thank you.

Daniel Bakondi

The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC 870 Market Street, Suite 1161 San Francisco, CA 94102

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
2/06/10, 2:49 pm

Legal Answer


First write tenant tell them you are owner, that you are separated and your soon to be ex is not allowed to collect the rent or wasn't allowed to do the lease. Then if that doesn't resolve it start eviction proceeding against the tenant. You must however inform tenant that they owe you the rent not your soon to be ex.

I assume this is your separate property if it is not then you will have to resolve this in divorce proceeding because your husband may have authority to lease and collect the rent but it doesn't mean that he is entitled to all of it.

Good luck and hope this helps.

Melvin C. Belli

The Belli Law Firm 35 Miller Ave Suite 199 Mill Valley, CA 94941

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search