California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/04/09, 12:58 am

Legal Question


If in the process of serving a 3-day notice, the landlord says he is declaring a "forfeiture" of the lease, does that mean the tenants can move out within 3 days and not owe for the unpaid rent, past or future? If the lease agreement is forfeited, doesn't that excuse both parties further obligations under it?

Also in California is there triple rent damages available to landlords in this situation?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search