Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

I am renting an apartment with no written lease. The oral agreement with the landlorad was that "I can live as long as I pay monthly rent." Can I leave the premises without a 30 day or whatever notice? I just want to pay the last month rent and go.

Asked on 2/19/12, 2:03 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy McCormick Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It doesn't matter whether oral or written, if you have an agreement to rent property and you pay a monthly rent, you have a month-to-month "tenancy at will." You must give the landlord 30-days notice of your intent to move out. You are free to move out sooner, but you owe rent until you give notice plus 30 days after.

Read more
2/19/12, 10:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now