California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
3/30/07, 10:55 am

Legal Question


Security deposite

I leased a house through a property management. The owners a year later are wanting to sell their house and cancel their contract with the property management company. I have a $2500. deposite holding. My mom & I cleaned the house beautiful. The inspectors from the property management team came and video taped the house ,and made the commet how clean we left it. The owners live out of state. My property management told me the owners have 30 days to refund my deposite and the 30 days was up 3/1/07 . We never received any $$.

I called the owners and they told me that there daughter who I guess lives somewhere close by went to look at the house and told her mom it was a filthy(Which she is lying and we have the video tape to prove it. Now my question is can I put any type of lein on their property for my $$$? Or is this just another small claims court in which I would win and all they get hit with is a judgement against them and I'm out of the $$$$. 2nd question since I signed the rental contract with the property management company shouldn't they be liable too or at least be helping me? I signed the contract from beginning to end, and getting back the deposite should be part of it. Just so frustrated!! Thank You


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search