California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
I signed a one year lease in April. No where in the lease are there terms of breaking the lease. No where does it state what the security deposit is or what it is for. Two days ago I was robbed. My laptop was stolen and all my personal information is available to the robber. I no longer feel safe in my building and am afraid for my safety. The landlord installed a steel door but I told him I did not feel safe. He said to wait it out and then we'd talk about it, but got all huffy when I mentioned the lease. He says I am in it for a year and I think he is trying to bully me. If there is no terms for breaking the lease can I legally break it on grounds that I was robbed and the building is unsafe?


