California | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
tenant rights
experienced a fire in rental unit, what are my rights as far as timeand compensation? Owe back rent
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jerold M. Gorski |
Re: tenant rights This depends on many facts, including: did this fire start in your unit because of something you did, or did it start elsewhere by others and then damage your unit? When you say "owe back rent" was that the case before the fire, or now? Generally if you are damaged by someone else you are entitled to reasonable compensation, although those damages can be limited by statute or by contract. Does your lease address this? If you are serious about pursuing your rights, feel free to give me a call so we can discuss the facts and consider your options. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Libris Solutions - Dispute Resolution Services
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10412
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Robert F. Cohen
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
The Gibbs Law Firm, APC
San Clemente, CA
Questions Answered: 2089
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Scott H. Linden, Esq.
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1120
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-02-19
Law Offices of Anne Marie Healy
Santa Ana, CA
Questions Answered: 843
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-20
Law Offices of Roy A. Hoffman
Moreno Valley, CA
Questions Answered: 823
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Search Questions and Answers


