California  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
11/05/09, 12:00 am

Legal Question


What should I do? My tenants (a family) have not paid the rents for almost 2 months and kept on extending their stay in my rental house.Their answers to my collection notices were they do not want to pay because they will use the money for the place they are going to move into and the place is not ready yet. I'm planning to serve them a 3-day notice to pay or quit. But after 3 days, if they don't pay or move out, what will I do? I heard that legal action is the next step. Does this need a lawyer? I'm worried about the fees. And also, just in case the tenants quit, what will happen to the unpaid rents? How will I recover them?

Also, a friend advised me to call the Sheriff. Is this an appropriate action?

I will appreciate the help you can provide. Thank you very much.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search